Welcome to my first ever blog!

I thought I’d start by telling you a bit about me first. I’m a mum of two boys (6 and 8 years) and live on the outskirts of London. I’ve got a large allotment plot, a (too small) greenhouse and a back garden. I’m absolutely mad about growing my own fruit and veg but I’m always short of time!

The story behind becoming mad about veg growing began while I was grew up on a dairy farm in Southern Germany. We had a very large kitchen garden attached to our farm and grew fruit bushes, fruit trees and all sorts of veg. I’ve got vivid memories about having to water the strawberries and nicking some of the redcurrants when I was about 8 years old. I also remember having to eat my mum’s rhubarb cake which, trust me, wasn’t nice at all as she never add enough sugar to make the very tangy rhubarb a bit more palatable. I believe it was this very cake that put me off growing rhubarb for a long time! Although funnily enough, 30 years later I can’t get enough of that stuff!

But it wasn’t just my mum’s garden which inspired me to start growing my own veg. My gran’s kitchen garden probably influenced me even more. She had one of the first greenhouses in our village (we’re talking about 35 years ago here). But her greenhouse was no ordinary greenhouse; it was an old coach bus! Yes, an old coach bus which she completely stripped out of its interiors. Thankfully my gran was very good with the authorities and persuaded them to be allowed to keep it on her land. 

Having such a large greenhouse meant that my gran was always the first one to have lovely and juicy salads and other crops in the spring; well ahead of anyone else in the village. She produced the most delicious carrots I’ve ever eaten in my whole life and her French beans where most delicious in the salads she made (she used her home grown shallots for all her salads). My gran gardened well into her 90s and I hope to follow her lead!

So, that is what inspired me to start growing my own fruit and veg!

@C_Veggie

wpid-20130905_093326.jpg

