Today’s task on the plot was very much about dealing with the aftermath of the windy weather we’ve had over the last few days. I expected some damage but wasn’t prepared for what awaited me when I arrived on the allotment!

A row of runner beans was nearly flat on the ground and what’s even more it nearly smashed all the Jerusalem Artichokes  in the process! I now know that it’s a bad idea to grow these two rather tall vegetables next to each other.  Hindsight hey…

image

But as if that’s not enough all 3 of my really beautiful and self-seeded sunflowers lay dying on the ground as well. Bloody storms!

image

But hopefully staking them will mean they’ll survive and carry on with their important job of cheering everyone up who comes near them.

Other jobs I got on with included digging up all my early potatoes. Yes earlies, and I know it’s a couple of months late! Wow, some of the tubbers where the size of baking potatos.

Also sown true spinach, corn salad and more beetroot. One can never have enough beetroot I say.

So, what’s one to do after all this hard work? Bake something yummy of course. “Please not another courgette cake” pleaded the boys so I’ve gone for berry muffins instead! Never mind I’ve never ever made muffins before. I must say that they’ve turned out really yummy. And, I was finally able to use the muffin form which I had bought years ago.

image

If you too fancy making some yummy low fat Fruitburst Muffins here’s the recipe:

225g plain flour
2 tsp of baking powder
2 large eggs
50g melted butter
175ml skimmed milk
Mix of fresh berries (I’ve used fresh raspberries and blackberries from the plot)
1 tsp grated orange zest
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Just kind of mix everything together and bake for around 20 min.

Bon appetite!

PS: Can’t believe that while I’ve been writing this my boys had 3 muffins each!

