I just love growing my own herbs. I probably love growing them more than I like eating them!

Here’s a list of all the common herbs I grow successfully.

Rosemary – this is almost a staple in my kitchen. I can’t imagine roasted potatoes or a hotpot without it. And, the good thing is that rosemary has got to be one of the easiest herbs to grow and preserve. Well, actually there’s no need to preserve it as it grows (and can be harvested) all year round.

wpid-20140825_103209.jpg

Thyme – I grow two lemon thyme plants in pots and just love their flavour.

wpid-20140822_112656.jpg

Sage – I say no garden should be without a sage plant. I’m growing a purple variety which doesn’t just taste great but also looks fantastic.

wpid-20140822_112603.jpg

Parsley – another absolute kitchen essential for me. I grow and havest it all year round. I also save my own seeds which is really simple. Parsley has a reputation for being difficult to germinate but if you soak the seeds in lukewarm water overnight they germinate much better.

wpid-20140822_112617.jpg

Mint – I love a few leaves together with a bit of fresh lemon juice added to  mineral water; it makes the most refreshing summer drink. I’m growing Spearmint and Peppermint. But a word of caution here;  keep your mints in pots or they’ll spread all over the place!

wpid-20140822_112637.jpg

Chives – I love them in salads but they’re also yummy on traditional German bread with butter. I grow them successfully in deep pots as they don’t seem to do well on my heavy clay soil.

wpid-20140822_112540.jpg

French Tarragon – it might have a bit of a shabby look but it’s definitely worth growing for its divine flavour.

wpid-20140731_142834.jpg

So, how do I preserve my herbs? Well I’ve found the simplest way is to freeze them as herb cubes. Just chop them all up and use normal ice cube trays. Add a bit of water and freeze. Once frozen I pack them into freezer bags and add them frozen to my cooking.

wpid-20140728_182317.jpg

But whatever herbs you might grow it’s best to keep on harvesting them regularly during the growing season to keep them nice and trim.

Happy herb growing!

