I thought I’d do a quick blog on my favourite spring flowers. They’re all really common but they’re such a delight when they come up.

One of the best spring flowers for me are drooping bell-shaped snowdrops. Can one ever have too many I ask? If you want more you’ll meed to be fast as they should be devided now while still green.

image

And what about Hellebores? I’ve only recently started to like them and this year I’m hoping to save the seeds of Helleborus Niger. The seeds are fattening up as I write this! You’ll have to wait for a progress update though as it takes 4 years from sowing to flowering.

image

image

Next on the list of spring flowers has got to be the humble daffodil. Planted in great masses they’re a great delight. If you’ve got some in your garden make sure their foliage is left to die back naturally as that helps to rejuvenate the plants for next year.

image

There’s no spring garden without crocuses. Close up they’re very stunning and definitely announce the departure of winter.

image

Next up it’s Grape Hyacinth. One of the most beautiful spring flowers around. Look closer and you’ll see that their flowers really do resemble bundles of grapes. I also like the way they reflect in my tiny pond; although on this picture the eagle-eyed among you will see a rather different reflection!

image

Wish you all happy gardening and do make some time to enjoy the final shows of your spring flowers as they won’t last for much longer!

